The Making of the Representative for Planet 8
Composer: Philip Glass
Composer Bio: Through his operas, his symphonies, his compositions for his own ensemble, and his wide-ranging collaborations with artists ranging from Twyla Tharp to Allen Ginsberg, Woody Allen to David Bowie, Philip Glass has had an extraordinary and unprecedented impact upon the musical and intellectual life of his times.

The operas – Einstein on the Beach, Satyagraha, Akhnaten and The Voyage among many others – play throughout the world’s leading houses, and rarely to an empty seat. Glass has written music for experimental theater and for Academy Award-winning motion pictures such as The Hours and Martin Scorsese’s Kundun while Koyaanisqatsi, his initial filmic landscape with Godfrey Reggio and the Philip Glass Ensemble, may be the most radical and influential mating of sound and vision since Fantasia His associations, personal and professional, with leading rock, pop and world music artists date back to the 1960s, including the beginning of his collaborative relationship with artist Robert Wilson. Indeed, Glass is the first composer to win a wide, multi-generational audience in the opera house, the concert hall, the dance world, in film and in popular music -- simultaneously.

He was born in 1937 and grew up in Baltimore. He studied at the University of Chicago, the Juilliard School and in Aspen with Darius Milhaud. Finding himself dissatisfied with much of what then passed for modern music, he moved to Europe, where he studied with the legendary pedagogue Nadia Boulanger (who also taught Aaron Copland , Virgil Thomson and Quincy Jones) and worked closely with the sitar virtuoso and composer Ravi Shankar. He returned to New York in 1967 and formed the Philip Glass Ensemble – seven musicians playing keyboards and a variety of woodwinds, amplified and fed through a mixer.

The new musical style that Glass was evolving was eventually dubbed “minimalism.” Glass himself never liked the term and preferred to speak of himself as a composer of “music with repetitive structures.” Much of his early work was based on the extended reiteration of brief, elegant melodic fragments that wove in and out of an aural tapestry. Or, to put it another way, it immersed a listener in a sort of sonic weather that twists, turns, surrounds, develops. There has been nothing “minimalist” about his output. In the past 25 years, Glass has composed more than twenty operas, large and small; eight symphonies (with others already on the way); two piano concertos and concertos for violin, piano, timpani, and saxophone quartet and orchestra; soundtracks to films ranging from new scores for the stylized classics of Jean Cocteau to Errol Morris’s documentary about former defense secretary Robert McNamara; string quartets; a growing body of work for solo piano and organ. He has collaborated with Paul Simon, Linda Ronstadt, Yo-Yo Ma, and Doris Lessing, among many others. He presents lectures, workshops, and solo keyboard performances around the world, and continues to appear regularly with the Philip Glass Ensemble.
Librettist: Doris Lessing
Original Cast: Andrew Shore (Doeg Memory-maker and Storyteller)
Richard Angas (Johor Canopean agent)
Gillian Webster (Klin Tender of Fruits and Plants)
Simon Masterton-Smith (Marl Keeper of the Herds)
Tamsin Dives (Bratch Guardian of Health)
John Kitchiner (Pedug Teacher of the Young)
Jady Pearl (Rivalin Custodian of the Lake)
Peter Bamber (Masson the Builder)
Lesley Garrett (Alsi a young woman)
Christopher Gillett (Nooni a young man)
Work Web Site:
Premiere Date: July 08, 1988
Producing Company: Commissioned by:
Houston Grand Opera
English National Opera
Landestheater Kiel, German
Description: Doris Lessing's philosophical/mystical novel tells of an Eden-like planet plunged into an ice age that is extinguishing all life. Guided by the overlords from Canopus, an extra-terrestrial civilization, the people of Planet 8 learn to accept their individual deaths and evolve into a collective universal soul (the 'Representative' of the title), that survives physical destruction.
Character List (Major): 2S, Mz, A, 2Bas, 2B
Length: 03:00
Total Acts: 3
Chorus: SATB
Orchestration: 2(pic).2.2.bcl.2/ 4.3.2.btrb.1/ 3 perc (timp, SD, BD, cym, tamb, tgl, glsp)/ hp/ str
Contact: Dunvagen Music Publishers
Address: 632 Broadway, Suite 802 New York, NY 10012
E-mail Address:
Phone: (212) 979-2080
Composer Web Site:
Librettist Web Site:
Publisher Web Site:
To have your company’s photos included in the header rotation, send photos that are at least 1200px wide and 550px tall to Please note that submission of photos does not guarantee inclusion.
All OPERA America facilities are handicapped accessible. The National Opera Center features ground-level entry with elevators to the venue. All spaces are wheelchair accessible, and modular seating can be arranged to accommodate wheelchair users for all programs and performances. Handicapped accessible restrooms are available on all floors.
330 Seventh Avenue, New York, NY 10001
Tel: 212.796.8620 • Fax: 212.796.8621

Privacy PolicyReturns Policy
2015 Form 990FY16 Audited Financial Statement
© Copyright 1995-2017 OPERA America Inc.

Technical issue with the website? Let us know.