Login failed. Please try again.

Article Published: 28 Jul 2022

Honoring the Librettist’s Art

The winner of the second annual Campbell Opera Librettist Prize is Stephanie Fleischmann, a renowned librettist, playwright, and lyricist. The prize, conceived and supported by librettist/ lyricist Mark Campbell and administered by OPERA America, is the first award in the history of American opera created specifically to honor opera librettists, and it comes with a $7,000 award to support the winner’s creative development. A panel of independent experts selected Fleischmann from an applicant pool of 36 librettists.

This article was published in the Summer 2022 issue of Opera America Magazine.

Keep exploring opera by signing in or joining as a member.

Unlock the full benefits of membership by clicking the link below.

Join Today


Login failed. Please try again.

Enjoy more OPERA America content as a member.