Login failed. Please try again.


Opera Hall of Fame

The Opera Hall of Fame recognizes the achievements of outstanding living Americans and Canadians who have strengthened the art form and the field.

Those inducted into the Opera Hall of Fame have:

  • Exhibited exceptional leadership and/or advocacy on behalf of an individual company or the entire industry.
  • Advanced the field through the creation, production, and performance of new works or works from the inherited repertoire.
  • Played an important role in the career development of future leaders and/or artists as a teacher or mentor.
  • Realized the full potential of unique opportunities or overcome obstacles to achieve their goals for opera.
  • Facilitated important projects and institutional progress through their generosity.

Their names enter the Opera Hall of Fame alongside those formerly recognized through the NEA Opera Honors, administered by the National Endowment for the Arts in collaboration with OPERA America from 2008 to 2011


OPERA America inducts a select number of individuals each year into the Opera Hall of Fame in three categories: artists, administrators, and advocates.

They are nominated by members of the field and chosen on the basis of their accomplishments by a committee of representatives with a deep understanding of the national opera community.

For questions about nominations, contact us at Membership@operaamerica.org or 646.699.5237.

How to Nominate

Nominations are now closed and will reopen January 2025.

Meet the Opera Hall of Fame
NEA Opera Honors

The NEA Opera Honors, administered by the National Endowment for the Arts from 2008 to 2011, recognized individuals who made extraordinary contributions to opera in America, including:

  • John Adams
  • Martina Arroyo
  • John Conklin
  • Frank Corsaro
  • David DiChiera
  • Carlisle Floyd
  • Richard Gaddes
  • Philip Glass
  • Marilyn Horne
  • Speight Jenkins
  • Lotfi Mansouri
  • Leontyne Price
  • Eve Queler
  • Julius Rudel
  • Risë Stevens
  • Robert Ward