Login failed. Please try again.

Article Published: 19 Apr 2022

Transitions: Spring 2022

Alejandra Valarino Boyer

Alejandra Valarino Boyer has joined the Ravinia Steans Music Institute as its new director. Boyer, a board member of OPERA America, previously served as director of programs and partnerships at Seattle Opera and participated in OPERA America’s 2017 Leadership Intensive.

Daniela Candillari

Opera Theatre of Saint Louis has named Daniela Candillari as principal conductor. The company has also extended the contracts of James Robinson, artistic director, and Patricia Racette, artistic director of young artist programs, through 2026.

Courtney Clark has been appointed director of community alliances at Arizona Opera. 

Vincent Covatto

OPERA America has promoted Vincent Covatto to director of leadership services. He has served the organization for seven years, most recently as senior manager of organizational membership.

Takesha Meshé Kizart-Thomas

The American Opera Project has welcomed soprano Takesha Meshé Kizart-Thomas as director of development. Kizart-Thomas is a participant in OPERA America’s Mentorship Program for Opera Leaders of Color.

Theresa Von Klug

Theresa Von Klug has joined San Francisco Opera as chief operating officer.

Michigan Opera Theatre has changed its name to Detroit Opera.

Cincinnati Opera has extended the contract of Artistic Director Evans Mirageas for five years, through the 2027 season.

Matthew Ozawa

Lyric Opera of Chicago has appointed stage director Matthew Ozawa to the newly created role of chief artistic administration officer.

Des Moines Metro Opera has named Allen Perriello as director of artistic administration.

Pensacola Opera has announced that Jerome Shannon will retire as artistic director and continue with the company as principal guest conductor. A new leadership structure will be in place starting August 1. Cody Martin, director of education and artists in residence, will assume the role of music director; baritone Corey McKern will join the company as artistic director; and Chandra McKern’s title will change from executive director to general director.