Board of Directors

Carol F. Henry
Trustee, Los Angeles Opera

More about Carol

Timothy O’Leary
General Director, Washington National Opera

Wayne S. Brown
President and CEO, Michigan Opera Theatre

Annie Burridge
General Director and CEO, Austin Opera

C. Graham Berwind III
Trustee, The Metropolitan Opera

L. Michelle Smith
CEO/Founder, no silos communications

Héctor Armienta
Composer and Artistic Director, Opera Cultura
Council Co-Chair, Civic Practice

Laura Kaminsky
Council Co-Chair, Artistic Services

Susan G. Marineau
Board Chair, The Santa Fe Opera
Committee Chair, Governance

Ian Rye
CEO, Pacific Opera Victoria
Committee Chair, Finance

Michael Egel
General and Artistic Director, Des Moines Metro Opera
Council Co-Chair, Membership and Development

Marc A. Scorca
OPERA America


James M. Barton
Trustee, The Glimmerglass Festival
Chair, National Opera Center Board

Afton Battle
General Director, Fort Worth Opera
Council Co-Chair, Membership and Development

Astrid Baumgardner
Teacher, Coach
Council Co-Chair, Learning and Leadership

Alejandra Valarino Boyer
Director of Programs and Partnerships, Seattle Opera
Council Co-Chair, Civic Practice

Ned Canty
General Director, Opera Memphis

Tassio Carvalho
Senior Manager, Customer and Data Science, American Airlines

Khori Dastoor
Incoming General Director and CEO, Houston Grand Opera
General Director, Opera San José
Council Co-Chair, Learning and Leadership

Rena M. De Sisto
Global Executive for Arts and Culture and Women's Programs, Bank of America

David B. Devan 
General Director, Opera Philadelphia

Carol E. Domina 
Trustee, The Metropolitan Opera
Trustee, Opera Omaha

Peggy Kriha Dye 
General Director, Virginia Opera
Council Co-Chair, Marketing and Communications

Anthony Freud 
General Director, President, and CEO, Lyric Opera of Chicago

Denyce Graves-Montgomery 

Carol Lazier 
Trustee, San Diego Opera

Anh Le
Director of Marketing and Public Relations, Opera Theatre of Saint Louis
Council Co-Chair, Marketing and Communications

Beth Morrison 
President and Creative Producer, Beth Morrison Projects

Lee Anne Myslewski
Vice President, Opera and Classical Programming, Wolf Trap Foundation for the Performing Arts

John Nesholm
Board Chair, Seattle Opera

Bill Palant
Founder and Managing Director, Étude Arts

Marilyn Pearson
Former Partner, McDermott Will & Emery LLP

Jane DiRenzo Pigott
Trustee, Lyric Opera of Chicago

Kamala Sankaram
Composer, Singer, Teacher
Council Co-Chair, Artistic Services

Matthew Shilvock
General Director, San Francisco Opera

Nadege Souvenir
Board Chair, Minnesota Opera
Council Co-Chair, Trustees

Ryan Taylor
President and General Director, Minnesota Opera

Dona D. Vaughn
Artistic Director, Opera Maine

Roger Weitz
General Director, Opera Omaha

Carole Yaley
Trustee, Central City Opera
Council Co-Chair, Trustees

Emeritus Members

Wayne S. Brown

David Gockley

Frayda B. Lindemann, Ph.D.

Charles MacKay

Susan F. Morris

Ex Officio

Christina Loewen
Executive Director,

Alejandra Martí
Executive Director, Ópera Latinoamérica

Nicholas Payne
Executive Director, Opera Europa

National Opera Center Board

James M. Barton, Chair
John E. Baumgardner Jr.
C. Graham Berwind III
Larry Bomback
Todd Calvin 
L. Henry Cox III
Douglas Cuomo
Margee M. Filstrup
Jeanne Goffi-Fynn, Ed.D. 
Jane A. Gross 
Virginia Lauridsen
Mont Levy
Karen Kriendler Nelson
Frederick W. Peters
Jane A. Robinson
Anthony Rudel 
Michael Scimeca, M.D.
Jeri Sedlar
Thurmond Smithgall
Shoshana Tancer
Barbara Augusta Teichert